Pear tree study


We’ve not managed many of the outdoor hour challenges this month, mainly due to being on holiday. My father in law has a pear tree in his garden so when I saw that it was one of the subjects I didn’t feel I could pass that one by!

It’s been the most gorgeous day today, really hot, and not September like at all. We gathered up a picnic blanket, our reading books and our nature journals and walked over to my FIL’s house and spent the afternoon there.

I encouraged M & A to look at the tree and choose something to draw about in their journals, they both chose the pears while I chose the leaves. I noticed that the leaves are quite curled when they are larger but I picked a smaller one I could lay flat and draw around. I sketched a leaf a pear and wrote some bits in my journal.


(I need to be braver with the colours don’t I?!!!)

Alex picked 2 pears and drew those. Marcus picked a single pear and drew that.

We saw quite a few insects buzzing around, enjoying the bonus warm weather – a huge bright green shield bug and something else we couldn’t identify.

A lovely afternoon.

(flickr is not letting me upload tonight – so I will try to add pics tomorrow)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pear tree study

  1. Welcome to this series of Outdoor Hour Challenge! I am so glad that you were able to fit in the September pear challenge and have a day outdoors too! Thank you for sharing your link with the OHC.

  2. zonnah says:

    I love all of your journals, thanks for sharing them 🙂

  3. Ali says:

    Lovely to see the pictures, made me want to do something like this too

Leave a Reply

